new toy

Look what I got:

Le Creuset! My lovely friends gave me a gift certificate to William Sonoma for my birthday many many months ago. To be thrifty, I waited for the January sales to use it. Turns out this was a brilliant idea as I bought a forest green enameled cast iron grill pan for a song. Beauty.

For its christening I made some truly plain but truly delicious burgers. I used to do all kinds of things to ground beef when making burgers. I’d add egg yolks, grated onion, garlic, nutmeg, chilies and I’d massage it all like crazy into the meat. I now touch it as little as possible. I shape the patties by breaking pieces off the mound of ground beef, then I season with some salt and a lot of pepper and (this is the important/delicious part) brush them with melted butter. That’s right, I melted some butter, brushed it on the patties and then put them in the fridge so the butter could harden up.

They were delicious, especially topped with some classic American cheese.

I like to go sans bun:

\

We also had a little blood orange salad. They are just so pretty – you should make it too! Peel and slice oranges, lay out on a plate/platter, season with a bit of salt and a good grinding of black pepper, drizzle with some good extra virgin olive oil, and top with sliced red onions and some chopped/torn mint leaves.

Leave a Reply

